The Last Time I Heard a Great Story: Rough to Final

Rough

“Exhaustion filled the car as my father and I drove to pick up the last of the boxes.

my older brother had just purchased his first home with his fiance and it got my dad thinking about all of the times we had moved, seven to be exact.

There was Burch Tree Street, Applewood Blvd., Monarch Medows, but his favorite was Puce Court.

This house was the first I had ever lived in and the one he built from the ground up.

It was supposed to by my mother’s forever home, so whatever she wanted she got…my father chuckled at that.”

Final

“Exhaustion filled the car as the last trip from apartment to the house was made.

My older brother had just purchased his first home with his fiancé and my father and I volunteered to take the 30-minute drive one more time.

Driving by the rows of houses with toys in the driveway and parents on the porch reminded my dad about all of the times we had moved. Seven to be exact.

There was Burch Tree Street, Applewood Blvd., Monarch Meadow, but his favorite was Puce Court.

This was the first house I had ever lived in and the one my father built from the ground up. It was supposed to be my mother’s “forever home”, as she called it, so whatever she wanted, she got…including two kitchens that my father always chuckled at.

Now talking about it, almost 10 years later, he could still describe the smell of the lumber as it was delivered and the look on my mother’s face when it was finally finished.

Pulling up to the house, what seemed like a few moments later, he turned to me and said, “I would have done it all again and wouldn’t change a thing.”

He lives an hour and a half away, in another country, but he was able to turn a normally dreadful car ride into another priceless memory with the most important man in my life.”

img_2417-1
My father and I standing in front of his prize possession, the bbq, at his 69th birthday party in March.  

 

Process

When first told to write about the last time we heard a great story, I knew exactly what story I wanted to tell, but didn’t exactly know what details to add.

The rough draft if more of a sequence of things that happened and then the final has more of the little details that I remembered only upon further thinking of the moment.

I was happy that I found both copies because looking at them know, they are almost two totally different pieces of work.This showed me that the

This showed me that the process from rough to final can entirely change the feel of the story and that progress will come if the effort is put forth.

 

Leave a Reply

